LP 255: Peter Nero – The Best Of (CBS, 1972)

10 Jul

Side 1
01 For Once In My Life
02 Wichita Lineman
03 Scarborough Fair / Canticle
04 Rain In My Heart
05 I Love How You Love Me

Side 2
06 I’ve Gotta Be Me
07 Variations On The Theme Ob-La-Di Ob-La-Da
08 Hey Jude
09 Lo Mucho Que Te Quiero (All I Need Is Time)
10 I’m Gonna Make You Love Me

Side 3
11 Raindrops Keep Fallin’ On My Head
12 Goin’ Out Of My Head
13 Without Her
14 Something
15 My Way

Side 4
16 I’ll Never Fall In Love Again
17 Jean
18 Can’t Take My Eyes Off You
19 Lay Lady Lady
20 Come Saturday Morning

This double album is a fine selection of Peter Nero’s choice cuts from the late 1960s / early 1970s period. With 20 tracks lasting almost 60 minutes there’s plenty bang for your buck. Highlights are as follows:

Scarborough Fair / Canticle – brooding piano and moog with what sounds like a harpsichord in the background.

Variations On The Theme Ob-La-Di Ob-La-Da – bonkers classical meets the mop tops.

Lay Lady Lady – melancholy string beast. Very atmospheric.

Comments and feedback are welcome.

Preview

5 Responses to “LP 255: Peter Nero – The Best Of (CBS, 1972)”

  1. nlgbbbblth July 10, 2011 at 6:04 PM #

    ?d=B6PMWH0B

  2. dowasinjones August 7, 2011 at 2:13 PM #

    What a brilliant album. I’ve also enjoyed the Midnight Cowboy album, but this could be better. Thanks for bringing it to our attention. (Not entirely sure about the leather pants, but.)

  3. Lacey August 14, 2011 at 9:38 AM #

    I love instrumental pop.
    Thank yo so much for all of your hard work.

  4. John June 13, 2012 at 8:19 AM #

    Hi.

    Where’s the link? =/ please, help me, want to listen to this lp.
    Best regards

Leave a Reply

