LP 266: Unknown – Jesus Christ Superstar (Music for Pleasure, 1972)

27 Jul

Side 1
01 Overture
02 Heaven On Their Minds
03 What’s The Buzz?
04 Everything’s Alright
05 Hosanna
06 Simon Zealotes

Side 2

07 Pilate’s Dream
08 I Don’t Know How To Love Him
09 Damned For All Time
10 I Only Want To Say
11 King Herod’s Song
12 Superstar

Not much is known about this version of Jesus Christ Superstar other than the producer – Walter Ridley. He gets the best out of an uncredited bunch of session musicians with some killer percussion and quality rock action.

We start with an entertaining and all-encompassing overture before it’s into the gritty Heaven On Their Minds. Holy fuzz. Then What’s The Buzz? After some soppiness the first side ends with a smooth rendition of Simon Zealotes.

Other high points include the overwrought but compelling Scott Walker-lite of I Only Want To Say and a funky Damned For All Time before bringing the curtain down with a beaty Superstar.

Comments and feedback are welcome.

Preview

8 Responses to “LP 266: Unknown – Jesus Christ Superstar (Music for Pleasure, 1972)”

  1. nlgbbbblth July 27, 2011 at 8:59 PM #

    ?d=I80UQAWP

  2. Lou September 26, 2011 at 6:07 PM #

    Thanks for this and all of the music you’ve shared.In return please accept my own rip of the jazz score by Chet McIntyre for the 1965 film One Naked Night:http://www.megaupload.com/?d=SK9U9EES

  3. nlgbbbblth September 26, 2011 at 7:45 PM #

    Thank you Lou, much appreciated.. Look forward to hearing the One Naked score. All the best.

  4. David May 14, 2013 at 2:50 AM #

    Boy, would I love to get a copy of this in digital format. This is the version of the JCS I grew up listening to in the 1970s in Indonesia, as a kid. I’ve been looking for the exact version ever since the internet became advanced enough, and this is the first time I’ve met with success. (I can tell it’s the right version from your preview and from the album art.) Now, at least I know the label information (Music for Pleasure). If you have a means of sharing a digital version, I would love to hear of it. If not, I will be perusing Ebay for a used version of the record.

    • nlgbbbblth May 14, 2013 at 5:49 PM #

      DAVID – check your email. I have sorted something out for you.

      • Graham West June 20, 2015 at 1:55 PM #

        Hello nlg… I’m in the same position as David. Wot’s the chances of u sorting something out for me too. Cheers

    • Graham West June 20, 2015 at 1:57 PM #

      I was also passionate about this recording.

      • nlgbbbblth June 20, 2015 at 2:19 PM #

        Graham – check your email.

Leave a Reply

