LP 272: Dennis Coffey – Hair and Thangs (Maverick, 1969)

4 Aug

Side 1
01 Let The Sunshine
02 Hair And Grits
03 Get Back
04 Aquarius
05 Sodomy

Side 2
06 Do Your Thing
07 Hey Jude
08 Iceberg’s Thang
09 It’s Your Thang
10 Electric Thang

Funk acid breaks are the order of the day on Hair and Thangs – Dennis Coffey’s first release.
A meandering and gritty Let The Sunshine gets the game off to an epic beginning. The other two Hair tracks – Aquarius and Sodomy are equally great; it’s a pity he didn’t do a full Hair LP.

Instead the remainder of the album is a mixture of originals and covers. Two Beatles classics – Get Back with a groovy organ and a fuzzed-up Hey Jude with a narcotic aroma. You want soul? Check out riffage-city and Dennis’s version of Do Your Thang. The Isleys’ It’s Your Thang comes across as a nifty break-filled diamond.

Hair And Grits is prime psychedelic funk, perfectly riding the chugging rock train of molten licks and banging drums while Iceberg’s Thang is a bluesy garage groove workout. The tantalising mini-nugget Electric Thang is a great way to sign off this fine album.

Comments and feedback are welcome.


2 Responses to “LP 272: Dennis Coffey – Hair and Thangs (Maverick, 1969)”

  1. nlgbbbblth August 7, 2011 at 4:30 PM #


  2. MrDave August 30, 2011 at 12:33 AM #

    Thanks, this looks great!!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: