LP 275: Koichi Oki at The Yamaha Organ – Yamaha Superstar! (Ad-Rhythm, 1971)

9 Aug

Side 1
01 Light My Fire
02 The Look Of Love
03 Summer In Shima
04 Felicidad
05 Something
06 My Sweet Lord

Side 2

07 Let It Be
08 Spinning Wheel
09 El Condor Pasa
10 Bridge Over Troubled Water
11 Tchaikovsky One
12 Another Day

This album sees Koichi Oki play the Yamaha Electrone EX 42 which was supplied to the Ad-Rhythm label by Yamaha’s Organ division in 1971.

The album starts with a punchy version of Light My Fire before a smooth Look Of Love glides by. The funky Summer In Shima is credited to Thomson-Hancock and is a pretty tasteful composition with decent key-noodling. Two George Harrison numbers finish off the first side – My Sweet Lord being marginally more enjoyable – before an energetic Let It Be kicks off part two.

My favourite selection is the version of Spinning Wheel which kicks off with a radical slice of fuzz before the organ jumps in. Killer grooviness. The zany mayhem of Tchaikovsky One is magnificent and all over too quickly. We end on an odd but refreshing note – a melancholy version of Macca’s Another Day.

Comments and feedback are welcome.


2 Responses to “LP 275: Koichi Oki at The Yamaha Organ – Yamaha Superstar! (Ad-Rhythm, 1971)”

  1. nlgbbbblth August 11, 2011 at 4:08 PM #


  2. eine August 11, 2011 at 10:06 PM #

    A favourite! Good to see it here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: