LP 283: Alan Tew Orchestra – To The One I Love (Pye, 1975)

20 Aug

Side 1
01 Why Did I Choose You
02 I Won’t Last A Day Without You
03 To The One I Love
04 I Honestly Love You
05 You Make Me Feel Brand New
06 You Are The Sunshine Of My Life

Side 2
07 Love Song
08 Won’t Somebody Dance With Me
09 Gentle In The Night
10 I Love You Because
11 Make It With You
12 You And I

To The One I Love doesn’t sound exactly like you’d imagine. The soppy sleeve goes some way towards symbolising the romantic and slushy sounds therein but there’s some surprises along with the way with some fine downbeat arrangements and the occasional funky moment.

Why Did I Choose You? reminds of an average Ray Conniff number with the chorus going through the motions. I Won’t Last A Day Without You is marginally better with a nice string arrangement. The title track is one of Alan’s own and is decent with a chilled-out moog vibe running the whole way through it. Similarly You Are The Sunshine Of My Life has some fat synth breaks and unfolds at a nicely relaxed pace.

Over on the other side Love Song gets the action off with some soaring strings not unlike the title track. Gentle In The Night is another self-penned number and is very lush with some evocative key changes that would ideally suit a cop show from the era (well it is a re-worked track from The Hanged Man). The remaining quarter is mostly forgettable aside from the moody Make It With You which would have fitted right onto Collage’s Misty (LP 187 on the original Spiral).

Comments and feedback are welcome.

Preview

3 Responses to “LP 283: Alan Tew Orchestra – To The One I Love (Pye, 1975)”

  1. nlgbbbblth August 20, 2011 at 12:21 AM #

    ?d=KUWTEKQD

    • Carl Howard August 20, 2011 at 12:27 AM #

      Got it!

  2. victor August 20, 2011 at 5:30 AM #

    PLEASE CAN YOU SEND ME THE LINK OF ALAN TEW AN PETER NERO
    THANKS
    VICTOR

Leave a Reply

