LP 292: The Valverde Orchestra – ‘In’ Classics (Studio 2 Stereo, 1968)

4 Sep

Side 1
01 Unfinished Symphony
02 Emperor Piano Concerto
03 Hallelujah Chorus Messiah
04 Violin Concerto
05 The Trout

Side 2
06 Overture – The Barber Of Seville
07 The Swan Lake
08 Grand March: Tannhauser
09 Eine Kleine Nachtmusik
10 Toy Symphony

Classics arranged for the young in heart.

The web draws a blank on The Valverde Orchestra. The formula is nothing unique – classical pieces arranged with a modern rhythm section. There are two Schubert pieces – the slowburning Unfinished Symphony and the pretty piano-driven Trout.

The remainder of the LP yields some promising morsels – Emperor Piano Concerto and the faux trip hop Swan Lake with its luxury string grooves while the hypnotic Toy Symphony with cuckoo-clock and bubbly electronic undertones is a fine album closer.

Comments and feedback are welcome.


5 Responses to “LP 292: The Valverde Orchestra – ‘In’ Classics (Studio 2 Stereo, 1968)”

  1. nlgbbbblth September 4, 2011 at 12:02 AM #


  2. celio brito September 7, 2011 at 12:02 AM #


  3. celio brito September 7, 2011 at 12:08 AM #

    Fiz um comentario outro dia e o meu e-mail ficou anotado. Ele nãodeveria ter sido apagado, automaticamente, no final?

  4. Lilac September 9, 2011 at 4:34 PM #

    I believe this is the work of Hubert Valverde who worked on the Peter Wyngarde LP.

  5. nlgbbbblth September 9, 2011 at 6:38 PM #

    Good to know Lilac – makes sense. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: